Annual Report 2019


Group 20 Western Sydney Region Veteran Golfers Association Annual  Report  2018 
Chris Evans  (Hon.Sec.)

2019 was our tenth full year of operation as the Western Sydney Region Veterans Group.WSRVGA comprises eight Clubs, being Dunheved, Glenmore Heritage Valley, Leonay, Penrith, Richmond, Springwood, Stonecutters Ridge, and Wallacia. 
At the October 2018 AGM, the following members were elected as the Executive:

President:Les Knox (Leonay)

Secretary/Treasurer: Chris Evans (Richmond)

Vice Presidents: Noel Byles (Richmond), John Lovatt (Glenmore), Kim Stockbridge (Stonecutters) and Noel Rowsell (Leonay) as new Publicity Officer.

Membership growth continued strongly during the year with total player numbers at 740.
Eight interclub events were held in 2019 and we were delighted to achieve full playing fields of 140+ (all shotgun starts). It was disappointing that Guardian Funerals ceased their sponsorship but the Richmond Club, Frasers Property Australia,  and NSWVGA constinued as major sponsors. We wish to thank Warren Saunders Insurance Brokers who also ceased as NSWVGA Strokeplay sponsors after generous support of this Event over many years.
The highlight of the year was again Western Sydney hosting the NSWVGA State Strokeplay Championships. The tournament, in its 27th year, was played in wet conditions at Richmond, Glenmore Heritage Valley and Stonecutters Ridge. The tournament was reduced to 36 holes after Day 1 as Richmond was washed out. There were 150 entries, witth 140 players finally completing the Event. John Osborn (Mudgee) was the 1-stroke winner from Geofff Cranfield (Long Reef) and last year's champion, Ricky Allison (Camden Lakeside) in third place. John's rounds were 73 and 75 (148).  Nett winner was Matt Kumjew (Hurstville) with a nett score of 138. Tournament Director Les Knox and his Committee were delighted with the high standard of golf and sportsmanship on display. Congratulations to all participants.

Winners in the Player of the Year were Judy Loader (Stonecutters) 108, from Elaine Williams (Dunheved) 104, and Margaret Brownsell (Springwood) and Carol Carter (Richmond) 101. The Men's Player of the Year winners were Russell Cruickshank (Penrith) 119, from Peter Green (Dunheved) 118, and Gary Allsopp (Penrith) 118. Club of the Year winners were Penrith 1180, from Dunheved 1172 and Richmond 1154. Our representatives in the inaugural NSWVGA Medal at Port Macquarie in October were Carol Carter (Richmond), Sue Evers (Springwood), Steve Cromer (Leonay) and Peter Cromer (Wallacia).

Chris Evans, Hon. Sec. 30/10/19